Tuesday, April 16th 2024

just found out about this moomin character a couple days ago and let me just say….. It’s life-changing!

I was literally brought to tears by the first episode cus it got so freaky and scary before everything became okay again. I think that’s what kids today are missing in their like cocomelon or whatever:

The edge! Where’s the drama!?

Cus moomin is really great at creating this dream-like, idealistic world, but then occasionally slipping into scary nightmare stuff– all while maintaining its whimsical optimism and wholesome vibes. The show is super engaging because of that and leaves you pondering about the mysteries of the world Moomin Valley exists in.

It’s bizarre that I hadn’t heard of moomin until a couple days ago, especially when everybody else in the world seems to already be familiar. As soon as I changed my discord pfp to moomin, I got all sorts of messages about repping the lesbians and all the other queer ppl and stuff. I wasn’t aware of the cultural impact moomin has had on gay people, but as a proud bisexual, I guess I was always destined to feel the same way– like a cog in the moomin machine.

I can’t help but love moomin! It is all so very nice! And I’ll probably talk about it some more when I get the videos page up and running–

That’s gonna have a collection of a bunch of media that I like and how it has influenced me. It’s gonna be great!

But anyways, in the meantime, I will continue to watch through moomin as I draw and work on projects and stuff, cus it’s such a nice vibe to have on in the background.